Power To The People!
Nov 11, 2012

You came, you voted, you pushed an agenda forward!

This was a great week to work in talk radio!

It was a high anxiety time for many people in our WURD family. Based on the abundance of SuperPAC ads that were airing in the Greater Philadelphia market, it appeared that--in the 11th hour--the GOP decided they might need Pennsylvania to take the Presidential race. On and on, the Obama slander aired. It was a mind-numbing few weeks of attacks, falsehoods and misleading critiques of the Democratic party and the Obama administration. But the media blitz appears to have had the opposite of its intended effect.

On Election Day, despite all of the voter ID trickery and other divisive tactics, Pennsylvania and its electoral votes remained solidly blue on the tote board. To the tune of a nearly 500K margin in Obama's favor. And for the next few days on the WURD airwaves, we all got to outline our Wish List for how our soon-to-be-reelected President should prioritize his agenda for his 2nd term. We talked education, poverty, foreign policy and taxes...but most importantly, we talked about how clearly we now understand that POTUS can't do it alone. From the grassroots all the way through the highest office in the land, it requires vigilance and vision to make substantive change in America. No one can be taken for granted, and no one should be above critical review and consequence if they are not working in the people's best interest. Your voice is valuable, and I am happy to be part of a WURD team that will continue to air your concerns, great ideas and strategies for making things better.

Now here is last week's playlist:

  • Keep On Pushing - Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions
  • Guide My Feet While I Run This Race - Bernice Johnson Reagon
  • This Is My Country - Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions
  • We're A Winner - Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions
  • Take Us Forward (Obama 2012) - Crystal Lucas-Perry
  • I Need A Man (Obama Mix) - Maysa
  • L.O.V.E. Let One Voice Emerge - Various Artists
  • Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again - Lyn Collins
  • To Be Young Gifted & Black [live] - Nina Simone
  • Winner - Omar
  • Black Love - RhapsodE
  • Black Gold - Toussaint
  • I Am The Black Gold of the Sun - Nuyorican Soul ft Jocelyn Brown
  • Peaceful Journey - Heavy D
  • Sojourner's Battle Hymn - Sweet Honey In the Rock
  • Red Black & Green - Roy Ayers
  • Start Again - The Floacist ft Raheen DeVaughn